thoughts on motherhood: 3

I found this in my drafts from June… I look back on this now and think how far I’ve come since then. Still, I thought it was worth sharing.

Well I’m starting my fourth month of being a mother, and am well into my first month of returning to work. Although I’ve been able to flex my time to work at home some days, it’s still difficult to find time in the day for all of the things I want to accomplish. Taking a shower? It falls low on my list of priorities next to having clean clothes, organizing bottles, and stocking the diaper bag. I never thought it would be so difficult to find time to take care of myself. My eyebrows are in desperate need of a wax, I’m still sitting on a massage gift certificate from Christmas, and am desperate for a hair cut {this postpartum hair loss is no joke}. Instead of spending time scheduling these appointments and carving out the time for myself, I opt for basic daily goals like: brush hair, teeth, face, and apply a little makeup to cover the bags beneath my eyes. I used to think that I was going to be one of those moms that pureed all of my own baby food and cloth diapered. I’ve since dropped both of those things from my list of priorities of things that I need to do. Are there times when I make purees for the little dude? Yes. Is that all he eats? No. Are there times when we cloth diaper? Yes. Are there times when we use disposables? Yes. I’ll take it. Motherhood is teaching me to readjust my expectations to reflect what is attainable with the time that I have. 

Leave a Reply

